Deactivation rules

Deactivation rules define the policies for deactivating and deleting Users accounts. Each rule applies to one or more roles, and there can be multiple rules each with different policies and actions for different roles.

To be eligible for deactivation, an account must be inactive for some number of days, where inactive means the user has not signed in using the account during that time. All rules are automatically evaluated every day at 12:01 AM Pacific time.

Note: A value of 1 day is the calendar day before the day on which the rule is evaluated.

When an account is

  • inactive, the user may not sign in to the account. To reactivate the account, an administrator must turn on the User is active option on the Users screen, or an import (active=true) or API ("status": "ACTIVE") activity must update the account and specifically reactive it.

  • deleted, the user account is hidden and cannot be recovered.

For de-activation settings, keep in mind the following:

  • The deactivate rules apply to the primary role for the user. For example, if you shuffled over the role Frontline, the rule would apply to those users that have Frontline as their primary role but not to users that have it as an extra role.

  • After the rule is created and enabled (saved), Experience Cloud will look back at previous user activity and deactivate/delete users that meet the conditions.

Enabled
Whether or not to apply this rule when the rules are evaluated.
Name
(required) Name of this deactivation rule. Each rule has a name to uniquely identify it.
Deactivation days
Count of inactive days before marking the account inactive. Leave this option empty to skip deactivation. The minimum is 1 day; 0 and negative values are ignored.
Tip: Be careful of using small values that can deactivate users over long holidays or vacations.
Delete in days
Count of inactive days before deleting the account from the company. Leave this option empty to skip deletion. The minimum is 7 days; smaller values are not accepted.
Warning: Once deleted, an account cannot be undeleted, and the username cannot be assigned to another account.
Exclude internal user
Whether or not to exclude Medallia, Inc. employee accounts from the rule. By default, they are excluded and not affected by the rule.
Member roles
Roles the rule applies to; only accounts with these roles are affected by the rule.
Note: The list of available roles is empty until you Save the rule at least once.