Bookmarks

Company > Users > Bookmarks

bookmark is a shortcut to a report with predefined filter settings. This allows the user to quickly open a report to a previously saved state. Users create and manage their own bookmarks from the Bookmarks icon on the top-right of the report screens.

Reports screen with a hover over the Bookmarks icon

Clicking the bookmarks icon opens the list of bookmarks defined for the user and the user's role, if any. Users can create a new bookmark for the current report, and they can edit and delete existing bookmarks assigned to their account. User's cannot edit bookmarks assigned to their role.

Bookmarks list showing two editable bookmarks for the user, and one bookmark for the user's role

Administrators can create and manage bookmarks on the Bookmarks screen in Setup. 

List of bookmarks on the Setup screen showing just the bookmarks shown in the previous screen capture above

The Bookmarks screen lists the bookmarks defined for all roles and user accounts. On the screen:

  • To modify a bookmark, select it, make changes, and click Save.
  • To purge a bookmark, select it and click Delete.
  • To copy all the bookmarks for a role or user to another role or user, select the role or account, use the Copy To property to identify the target, and click Save.
  • To create a role or account not already in the list, click New Role, use the Copy To property to identify the role or user to add to the list, and click Save.
  • To create a new bookmark, click New Bookmark, name the bookmark, select the role or user to own the bookmark, include an Action Identifier, and click Save.
    Tip: When creating a bookmark , define the options on the report screen and create a personal bookmark of the settings with the Bookmark the page button. Then use this screen to locate the definition — which will be assigned to you — then assign the bookmark to the intended role or user with the Role property. You cannot define the report options from this screen.
Warning: Do not use the Bulk edit mode to change Bookmarks. It does not fully comply with the properties on the screen, and making changes in the bulk editor deletes custom queries.

Role/user bookmark properties

When a role or account is selected in the Bookmarks list, the following properties are available. The only action available is to copy the selected role or user's bookmarks to another role or account.

Name
Label of the bookmark.
Copy to Role
The role or account to copy the bookmarks to. After selecting the role or account, click Save to perform the copy.

Bookmark Properties

When a bookmark is selected in the Bookmarks list, the following properties are available. 

Important: Be careful when editing these properties because it is easy to make a mistake. Generally it is better to create a bookmark from the Reports screen and then copy that bookmark's values to other bookmarks, roles, or accounts.
Name
Label of the bookmark.
Role
The Unit or Unit Group the report is assigned to.
Priority
(read-only) The order in which the bookmarks are listed; this is system generated and maintained, and cannot be altered.
Group
(optional) Category name assigned to collect different Bookmarks in the 'Traditional Reports' heading once assigned to a specific Role (see above).
Locked
The bookmark cannot be changed by the user.
Action Identifier
The reporting screen the bookmark applies to.
Tip: Custom reports usually include the Control Panel and its dropdown fields. To suppress the dropdowns, use /analytics0.do instead of /analytics.do for the identifier.
QueryParams
Filter options to apply to the report when the bookmark is selected.