View and configure alerts

On the Alerts screen, view the name of the alert as well as its priority, date last modified, and status. Search for and filter the information using the search box and filtering options at the top of the list.

Select a row in the list to view alert details in the pane on the right side of the screen.

Alerts screen.

To edit details about the alert in the Alert editor, click Manage in the bottom right corner of the details pane. See Create an alert for details about the options available in the Alert Editor.

Manage alert.

Click the options menu to the right of the alert name in the details pane to complete the following actions:

  • Deactivate / Activate — The Deactivate option is available for alerts with statuses of Active, and the Activate option is available for alerts with statuses on Inactive. If you deactivate an alert, the alert's rule will not create alerts on new feedback nor evaluate escalation paths for existing alerts.

  • Delete Alert — The Delete Alert option is available only for alerts with statuses of Inactive. Deleting an alert deletes all triggers, actions, and email information associated with that alert. This action cannot be undone.

Options menu for alerts

Alert priorities

The priority of an alert determines when it will execute. Only the highest priority alert will execute.
Note: Each record can only have one alert.

To edit alert priorities, click the options menu in the top right corner of the Alert lists screen, then select Edit Priorities.

Edit Priorities.

For each alert, click the up or down arrow to the right of the Status column to move the alert priority to the top of the list (highest priority) or to the bottom of the list (lowest priority).

Change an alert's priority.

Alerts used in Experience programs

Alerts can be tied to specific Experience programs.

The Used In column shows the number of programs in which each alert is used. You can also view this information by selecting the Used In tab in the details pane. When you update an alert, Experience Cloud refreshes the fields on the Experience program.

Alerts list screen showing Used in column.

Alert settings

Click the settings icon in the top right corner of the screen to view or edit alert assignments, holiday calendars, and alert states.

Alert settings.

Alert assignments

Select Alert Assignments from the Alert Settings gear icon to view specific alert assignees. Alert assignees are roles and users who can be made aware of and are responsible for managing specific alert instances. Depending on the configuration, the owner can be an entire group or an individual user in that role. For more information about users and roles, see Users and Roles. For more information about configuring alert assignments during alert creation, see the Alert rules section of Create an alert.

Warning: When a user who is assigned to an alert is deactivated using the Auto Importer Account processor, or with a GDPR purge, the activity log is updated.

Other users subscribed to records associated with the alert may be notified by email that the alert's assignee was deactivated. This applies to alerts that are open, closed, active, and inactive.

When using the Auto Importer Account processor to deactivate users, users subscribed to records associated with the alert are notified by email.

When using a GDPR purge to deactivate users, users subscribed to records associated with the alert are not notified. For information about alerts, see Alerts and Assignees.

The Roles column lists the roles that can be assigned alerts, either done manually by those users in the Who Can Assign This Role to Alerts column on the feedback record or done automatically via the alert rule or escalation paths. Those roles and users within the roles listed in the Who Can Be Assigned to Alerts column can be assigned to alerts to handle and maintain ownership of those alerts. These users and roles are typically the users that need to follow up directly with customer feedback. For example, a store manager may be the person that is responsible for following up with detractor feedback about the store's layout.

To edit a specific row, click the edit icon to the far right of the line item. To create a new permission, click Add Permission in the bottom left corner of Alert Assignments.

Alert Assignments dialog.

In the Alert Assignment section, select a role that can be assigned to alerts as well as the role that can assign that role. If you select the Also allow Users in this role to be assigned to Alerts check box, an email will be sent to those users to notify them of the alert assignment only when the user has been manually assigned the alert. If an alert is automatically assigned to a user, the information in the Send Email section for the alert will be used for the email.​

The options in the Notification of Assignment section are for those alerts that are configured to send emails to assignees. If a specific alert is not associated with a user, the email that you define in this section will be sent to users automatically assigned to the alert.

Click Save when you are done configuring the permission.

The Add Permission screen

Holiday calendars

Select Holiday Calendars from the Alert Settings gear icon to configure holiday calendars to specify the non-working days where users will not handle alerts and delay timers will be paused on those specified dates. See Holiday calendars in Create an alert for details on associating a holiday calendar with a specific alert.

To edit an existing calendar, click the edit icon to the far right of the line item. To create a new calendar, click Add Holiday Calendar in the bottom left corner of Holiday Calendars.

Holiday Calendars dialog.

Enter a calendar name, then enter days or dates that are holidays. Click Add Date to add more holidays to the calendar. Check the Repeats every year box for those days that are holidays every year. Click Save.

Edit Holiday Calendar.

Alert states

Select Alert States from the Alert Settings gear icon to select alert states, which define the escalation paths that allow alerts to automatically progress from one state to another.

Select the alert states that will be available to new alerts. Click Save.

Alert states dialog

Alert state transitions

When users view individual alerts in reporting, the status bar describes the time until the alert's next state transition using the following verbiage:
Alert state description Time left until state transition
Goes to next state in X daysGreater than or equal to 48 hours
Goes to next state in Y hoursGreater than or equal to 2 hours and less than 48 hours
Goes to next state in 1 hourGreater than or equal to 1 hour but less than 2 hours
Goes to next state in < 1 hourLess than 1 hour