Switch account

Switch account allows an administrator to switch to another user account without having to sign into that account with its account credentials. By switching account, an administrator can see the user's reports, dashboards, etc. to troubleshoot and verify configurations. Implementers sometimes use this option to switch to test accounts that have the same roles and permissions as a target user. The implementer can then quickly verify a configuration change without signing into a real user account.

Note: If you switch to an account that uses translations different than for your account, report options (such as control panel selections) might not appear as expected. This behavior ensures that the language used by your own account is not disrupted.

Using Switch account

In Classic reporting, there are two ways to access this feature:

  • Click the Switch Account icon next to the Setup menu.
  • Choose Switch Account from the User Settings menu.

Two options for switching accounts: Icon on system menu, and option on User Settings menu

To switch to another account:

  1. Open the Switch Account dialog.
  2. Choose the account to switch to.
    • The initial list includes at least one account of each Role in the company.
    • Use the filter to find the account if it is not in the initial list.

To switch back to your account, click the Switch Account icon on the banner at the top of the screen. This banner at the top of the screen tells you the account and current role you are using, and gives you the option to switch back to your account. Further, if you are using the Publish and draft feature and you have the View unpublished items capability, you see an option to change the view to see the draft versions of reports, dashboards, etc.

Banner in blue when showing published items; banner includes the account in use, current role, link to show unpublished items, and icon to switch back

When viewing unpublished items (ones in draft state), the banner is yellow as a reminder of which mode you are using.

Banner in yellow when showing unpublished items

Configuring Switch Account

To switch accounts, your role must have either the Switch Account or View unpublished items capability. You may only switch to accounts for which you have equal or greater access to the data the accounts can see.

Additionally, your primary role or user account must have the ability to edit the role to which you want to switch, as configured on the Role Edit Role and User edit roles screens. Both screens are considered when determining which accounts are available to you for switching.

Important: Because configuration possibilities can introduce deep complexities into your implementation, Medallia recommends that you follow the guidelines for a simple configuration of Switch Account, as described below.

Recommended configurations

Configure the ability to edit other roles on either the User Edit Roles screen or the the Role Edit Role screen, and never on both screens. Allowing edit-role access on both screens introduces complexities that can make Switch Account difficult to manage.

  • If your account has role-edit access configured only on the User Edit Roles screen, the roles configured for you in the MemberEditRoles property are available for switching. If you use this configuration, set the SetupUserPermission property to a value other than ASSIGNED_ROLES_PERMISSION_RESTRICTED. On the User Edit Roles screen, that value does not enable you to switch into the listed roles.
  • If your account has role-edit access configured only on the Role Edit Role screen, the union of the roles listed in the MemberEditRoles property for all of your roles is the set of roles available to you for switching.

Complex configurations

If your account has edit-role access configured on both the User Edit Roles and Role Edit Role screens, a combination of settings on both Setup screens determines the roles available to you for switching, as follows:

For each of your roles, Medallia Experience Cloud examines the roles possibly available to you for for switching on both the User Edit Roles and Role Edit Role screens. Experience Cloud compares the value of the SetupUserPermission property on both Setup screens, using the values listed below in precedence order. The Setup screen with a higher-precedence SetupUserPermission value has its roles (listed in the MemberEditRoles property) available to you for switching.

  1. ALL_USERS
  2. ASSIGNED_ROLES_PERMISSION_RESTRICTED
  3. ASSIGNED_ROLES
  4. OWNED_USERS_ONLY

Experience Cloud performs that comparison of User Edit Roles and Role Edit Role screens described above for each of your roles separately, and then determines the union of available roles from those comparisons. That union of roles is available to you for switching.