Expiration conversation
An expiration conversation gets triggered automatically when respondents try to re-engage with conversations that have expired. By default, respondents may re-engage with a conversation indefinitely. However, to ensure a timely exchange, some conversations are only available for some number of hours after the respondent first interacts with the conversation. When respondents try to re-engage with expired conversations, they see the expiration conversation instead.
The expired dialog is in a conversation that only happens when a respondent encounters an expired session. Every conversation may have an expiration restriction, but there is only one expiration conversation per company.
Applying an expiration limit to a conversation
-
Open the conversation: in the Conversations list, click the conversation's name.
-
Click Conversation Settings in the upper right.
-
In Advanced Settings, set Conversation Expiration to the count of hours the conversation will be available from the time the first message is sent to the respondent. For example, enter 24 to limit the time to 1 day.
-
When finished, click Save.
Defining a expiration conversation
There is one expiration conversation for all conversations in the instance. Before creating an expiration conversation, first search the existing conversations for one with a keyword of "expired_conversation". If it exists, edit that conversation.
To create an expiration conversation:
-
Open the Conversations list.
-
Click New Conversation.
-
Name the conversation.
-
Add
expired_conversationto the Keywords. -
Define the expiration dialog using a Statement:
-
In the Conversation editor, click Add Dialog.
-
For the type, choose Statement.
-
Enter the message text, such as "Sorry. The conversation has expired."
-
When finished, click Add Dialog.
-
Click Cancel to close the Dialog editor.
-
-
When finished, click Save.
The dialog will now appear for expired conversations.
