Terms of use

Integrations > Security > Terms of use

A Terms of use agreement is a prompt that displays during the login process after users have been authenticated, and which requires them to agree to the specified terms and conditions before allowing them access to the system.

The prompt is off by default. Turn it on for an instance with the Enable terms of use option in this configuration. After activating the prompt, all users must agree to the terms the first time they log in. To agree to the terms, users must:

  • Select the I have read and accept the terms of use checkbox.

  • Click Accept.

Clicking the Back button revokes the authentication and logs the user out.

On subsequent logins the user may be required to re-agree to the terms depending on:

  • The acceptance policy.

  • An update to the terms and conditions.

The Terms of use prompt title and agreement text are configured in the Properties described below. The company logo is configured on the Application branding page.

Warning: The user logging in must not:
  • Be a Medallia user (that is, a user with a @medallia.com email address).

  • Have previously accepted the terms of use in the same session.

  • Be accessing from a Switch account.

Properties

Terms of use acceptance policy
How often to show the terms-of-use prompt to users. The options are:
  • EVERY_LOGIN — Prompt every time the user logs in.

  • ONCE_PER_UPDATE — Prompt the first time the user logs in, and then again only after the Terms of use text (below) is changed. Except when Do not revoke acceptance for this update is checked.

Do not revoke acceptance for this update
When checked, changes to the Terms of use text do not revoke previous acceptances. Use this option when making minor changes to the prompt (such as fixing a typo).

When not checked, title changes revoke previous acceptances, and when the policy is ONCE_PER_UPDATE, all users will be shown the prompt.

Enable terms of use
Activates the terms-of-use prompt.
Terms of use title
Title of the terms-of-use prompt.
Terms of use content type
Select which content type is displayed on the terms-of-use acceptance screen. Depending on what kind of content is selected, some inputs will be mandatory. There are four possibilities:
  • Text — Shows the title and the text.

  • URL — Shows the title and the URL.

  • Text and URL — Shows the title and the URL.

  • None — shows only the title.

Note: Note that all elements but the terms-of-use title are optional.
Terms of use text
Plain text of the terms-of-use message: the terms and conditions the user is agreeing to.
Terms of use URL
URL of the terms of use hyperlink that takes users to an additional (optional) page.
Note: This additional page is not required to complete the acceptance process.

Layer 11234

  1. Company Logo

  2. Terms-of-use title

  3. Terms-of-use text

  4. Terms-of-use hyperlink