Creating conversations
Before creating a conversation, consult Designing conversations for tips and best practices to ensure quality results.
A conversation is a collection of one or more dialogs, typically for the purpose of gathering feedback on key questions. When creating a conversation, you define some basic information about the conversation, and then create the individual dialogs.
- In the Conversations list, click New Conversation.
- Provide a Title that identifies this conversation.
- Optional: Add a Description to help you and other administrators understand the purpose of this conversation. Some people include notes and dates about changes made to the conversation over time.
- Optional: Add an image to help you identify the conversation.Like the Description, this helps administrators categorize and identify conversations.
- Optional: Provide Keywords used to search and link common conversations.
- Add one or more dialogs to define the elements of the conversation, such as a question or statement. Click Add a dialog to open the dialog editor. See Dialog types for information about the dialogs types, and see the description of the individual types for details about their specific behaviors.Note: For compliance and best practices, include an opt-out message in the first dialog statement, such as "Reply STOP to unsubscribe."After defining a dialog:
-
To add another dialog, click Add Dialog.
-
To return to the conversation editor, click Cancel.
-
- Set Conversation settings to affect the behavior of the conversation. Click Conversation Settings to change the default behavior. Two setting to be aware of are:
- Customer may retake this survey
- Allows the respondent to retake the survey or interact with this conversation. When disabled, the respondent may not retake this survey. This option is typically used for conversations that do not gather information (is not a survey), such as for expiration and welcome conversations. Important: Do not turn this off for feeded conversations because that blocks respondent's from being able to retake the survey. if a respondent needs to retake the survey, send a new invitation (using the same conversation).
- Conversation expiration (hours)
- How long (hours) the conversation remains available to the respondent once the they start the conversation. This is useful for in-the-moment surveys where a timely response is helpful. By default, respondents have 48 hours to finish. The minimum allowed is 1 hour, and the maximum is 596 hours.
Note that a Web-survey link in the Conversation always expires after 25 days; the limit cannot be changed.
- When finished, click Save.
- Verify questions and answers were saved to Medallia Experience Cloud; the Sync Status should say "Complete". For more information, see Synchronizing questions with the server for detailed information.
